Monday, 17 June 2013

Volvo in V8 Supercars in 2014...

Volvo Cars Australia have confirmed today that they will enter the International V8 Supercars Championship in 2014 with Garry Rogers Motorsport joining forces with Polestar Racing to become a Works Volvo team running the S60 model.

This means that there will 5 different makes on the grid in 2014: Ford, Holden, Nissan, Mercedes and Volvo. All with cars built to the new Car of the Future rules.

This is great news for the at a time when Touring Car series are looking to attract new manufacturers for their series with new regulations designed to provide close, equal tintop racing. V8 Supercars is some of the closest racing in the Touring Car world.

For example, the BTCC's Next Generation Touring Car regulations have attracted an entry list for the 2013 season of 26 cars built to NGTC regs from different shells of 11 different makes all using TOCA supplied parts to save money and make building the cars cheaper and more open to new competitors.

It is also the 15th anniversary of the famous 2 litre Super Touring win at the 1998 AMP Bathurst 1000 race for Rickard Rydell and Jim Richards in the Volvo Racing Australia S40 against Matt Neal and Steven Richards in the Team Dynamics Nissan Primera... One of the best races from the Super Touring era

And yes, there's a blogpost planned because I love that race!

So V8 Supercars next year will have 5 of the most successful Touring Car Manufacturers racing during the season.  Ford, Holden, Nissan, Mercedes and Volvo have all dominated and won either domestic or global Touring Car series over the decades, especially during the Group A and Super Touring era's.

This announcement is great news and I will be watching the series with even more interest next year.



No comments:

Post a Comment